Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Excerpt: "2013 Award Ballots"

"AL Cy Young Award

1. Max Scherzer
2. Chris Sale
3. Yu Darvish
4. Hisashi Iwakuma
5. Anibal Sanchez

"The top four pitchers had roughly equivalent value in wildly divergent pitching environments. Figuring out how to order them gave me a headache. Scherzer, though, did win 21 games, and that's an indication that he knew how to…no, I'm kidding. He had the second-best strikeout rate of the group, threw the second-most innings, pitched in front of a poor defense, didn't give up the longball. Even as I'm writing this, I'm looking at the four pitchers' stats and questioning myself. I think you can justify any order. Scherzer will win because of "21-3", but it's a much more interesting discussion than that."